Message from the president: new team structure

Attached is the new team structure. It is not perfect, and as a working structure will likely never be. I am sure it will require some adjustment as we “try it on” this year to see how it works.

First, I want to thank the team that worked for a number of months on putting together a plan for your feedback.  Many thanks to: Karie Longhta, Leslie Ross, Jason Dockter, Colin Suchland, Chris McDonald, Tricia Kujawa, Lesley Frederick and Vern Lindquist.

Second, I want to thank the many, many of you that gave great feedback on the plan. There were a lot of comments to consider and to try to incorporate.

There are several important pieces to clarify based on your input. First, every team will be staffed with someone to assist with minutes, scheduling, etc. – just as ours are now. Second, as an additional thank you and recognition for those leading the four teams, each chair will receive $5,000 for professional development each year, and each vice-chair will receive $2,000 for professional development. You will note that our starting chairs have been identified. They have agreed to help us get underway so that work can begin more quickly. The beginning vice-chairs will be elected by the teams (and by position will also serve as members of the Quality Council).

Faculty Senate leaders, Jason Dockter and Colin Suchland, will be organizing the election for faculty members. I will work with the other employee groups for their elections.

Again, thank you for participating in this process. Your input and your patience in working through this have, and will continue to be valued and appreciated.

Charlotte Warren

Quality Council
Learning Outcomes Assessment Team
Enrollment Management
External Stakeholders
Campus Climate
Team Structure Diagram