Former Logger gets selected in MLB draft

Another former LLCC Logger has been selected in the Major League Baseball draft! Ben Hecht was drafted in the 12th round by the Chicago Cubs. While at LLCC in 2016, he hit .427 in 192 at-bats with seven home runs and 68 RBI and went 9-3 with a 3.33 ERA in 81 innings pitched.

LLCC baseball Logger Nick Maton was selected in the 7th round of the MLB draft by the Philadelphia Phillies. See In the News item below for more information.

Thank you to everyone who assisted with Summer 2017 Campus Visit Day

The mother of a prospective student was thrilled to reconnect with Dr. John Roberts, a favorite professor from her days as an LLCC student. See more photos of Campus Visit Day.

Summer Campus Visit Day the evening of June 13 was a success with over 200 individuals registered to attend. Public Relations and Marketing would like to thank all who assisted with this important recruitment event. We sincerely appreciate you sharing your time, expertise and enthusiasm for LLCC! Those who assisted include: Shanda Byer, Leslie Johnson, Dr. John Roberts, Mary Beth Ray, Dr. Deanna Blackwell, Katie Eilers, Chris Barry, Doris Williams, Becky Parton, Bob Howard, Tom Spears, Julie Rourke, David Bowman, David Ferrill, Laurie Rhodes, Laurel Bretz, Julie Clevenger, Tammy Schnell, Brad Gentry, Kim Eddings, Shelby Bedford, Marina Wirsing, Lisa Collier, Tim Humphrey, Dr. Victor Broderick, Bill Bade, Dave Pietrzak, Rick Stillman, Dr. Carmen Allen, Bill Harmon, Keven Tait, Brian Earley, Nancy Sweet, Sean Keeley, Dr. Cynthia Maskey, Janice Lovekamp, Janelle Murphy, Cathleen Ferguson, Nancy Walton, Don Kallembach, Randy Rue, Andrew DeRosa, Michelle Burger, Ryan Howland, Julie McKinney, Karla Wilham, Dallas Woomer, Brian Tweryon, Cathy Huffman, Dawn Burch, Jolene Adams.

Also, thank you to the LLCC Dance Team: Express Your Seoul for entertaining the crowd with several demonstrations of K-Pop!

In the news

LLCC baseball Logger Nick Maton was drafted in the 7th round of the Major League Baseball draft, selected by the Philadelphia Phillies. Nick, a sophomore last spring, was a 1st Team All Conference and 1st Team All Region player. Read more!

Jolene Adams, coordinator, Culinary Institute, wrote this week’s Epicuriosity 101 column in the State Journal-Register, “Relax and enjoy these sweet summer treats, worthy of Instagram!”

Campus Visit Day was covered by WICS/FOX news.

Flags at half-staff in honor of firefighter

Governor Bruce Rauner issued a proclamation that the U.S. flag and the state flag should be flown at half-staff from sunrise, Thursday, June 15, 2017, to sunset, Saturday, June 17, 2017, in honor of Firefighter Lawrence “Larry” Matthews of the Dolton Fire Department, Dolton, Illinois.

LLCC hosting state wine competition

LLCC’s Workforce Careers Center is again the location for the Illinois State Fair Wine Competition. The Illinois Grape Growers and Vintners Association is evaluating more than 230 commercially-made wines as well as 150 home-crafted wines. The competition, which is not open to the public, continues through today. The top 66 scoring wines will be promoted as the “Illinois 66” to coincide with promotion of Route 66. Jolene Adams, coordinator, Culinary Institute, is assisting with coordination of the competition.

Opportunity to support LLCC Foundation in golf tourney ticket purchase

The Lincoln Land Charity Championship starts next week! If you plan to watch the up-and-coming professional golfers who will be descending on Springfield’s Panther Creek Country Club for the June 19-25 tournament, please purchase your $10 ticket online, and select Lincoln Land Community College Foundation as the charity beneficiary. Every dollar from your ticket purchase will go to a charity, and we’d like you to choose us!

To purchase tickets go to, and click “Order Your Ticket TODAY” to start the online purchase. In the checkout process you will have the opportunity to select which area charity you would like to help. Choose Lincoln Land Community College Foundation from the drop-down list.

You can support the LLCC Foundation by enjoying great golf. It’s that easy!

In the news

Lynn Whalen, executive director, public relations and marketing, and Mac Warren, assistant director, recruitment and response, were interviewed by FOX 55/WICS News June 12 regarding Campus Visit Day June 13.

Campus Visit Day takes place today!

Prospective students and their families will be visiting LLCC this evening for Campus Visit Day. Check-in starts at 4:30 p.m. The event includes a presentation about getting started at LLCC, admission form and FAFSA assistance, exhibits and tours. Please join us in welcoming our guests to LLCC!


Our sympathy to Janet Moulton

We extend our sympathy to Janet Moulton, associate professor, Nursing, on the passing of her mother, Ruth “Bunny” Mullenix of Chatham (formerly of Mt. Prospect) on June 10.  Family will greet friends at Staab Polk Memorial Home in Chatham from 4 p.m. Thursday, June 15, until the time of the funeral service at 7 p.m. Burial will follow at Chatham Memorial Cemetery. Memorial contributions can be made to Shriner’s Hospital for Children in Chicago.