Ag program wins statewide Innovation Award

Ag wins Innovation AwardLLCC’s “Head Start Ag Safety Program” won a 2013 Innovation Award from the Illinois Council of Community College Administrators (ICCCA). The award was presented yesterday at the ICCCA’s conference in downtown Springfield. Rich Teeter, associate professor of agriculture, described the program as a unique collaboration involving LLCC, a statewide business association and a non-profit organization. Accepting the award on behalf of the college were Dr. Charlotte Warren, president; Teeter, Bill Harmon, professor of agronomy, Dr. Eileen Tepatti, vice president of academic services, and Dave Green, dean of business and technologies.

Last spring, a group of LLCC agriculture students were professionally trained and certified at the Asmark Institute Agri-center in Bloomington in subjects including confined space entry, hazardous materials and various safety procedures. The safety training program was provided to the students, free of charge, by the Illinois Fertilizer and Chemical Association (IFCA) and the Asmark Institute, a private, non-profit organization which assists agriculture retailers in complying with federal regulations.

Teeter said the training will not only enhance the resumes of the students when they pursue jobs in the ag industry, but more importantly, the lessons learned may save lives.