The Lamp student newspaper wins multiple awards

The Lamp student newspaper won 16 awards, including five first-place awards, at the Illinois Community College Journalism Association’s annual student awards presentation April 17. The awards were presented virtually via the association’s Facebook page due to cancellation of the conference.

The Lamp staff won first place for website. “That’s a great award because the website takes a team effort to have stories and editors,” said Tim McKenzie, adviser of The Lamp and professor of journalism and humanities. “It also prepared us for the new reality when the physical campus closed due to the coronavirus pandemic. The students were able to continue producing content online.” has continued to be led by Regina Ivy of Springfield, editor; Tess Peterson of Springfield, assistant editor; and Ryan Scott of Chatham, assistant editor. Ivy was the recipient of the annual $1,000 scholarship awarded by the association to one community college journalism student who is transferring to a four-year college or university. This is the second year in a row that an LLCC student has won the award.

Read more