Email phishing alert

Several users have reported getting an email, appearing to be sent from an IT desk with the subject EMAIL ACCOUNT CLOSURE. The email includes a link labeled UPGRADE NOW. This email is NOT from our IT department and is a phishing attempt to acquire users’ logon credentials. Please disregard the message and delete the email. If you have already given your information, you should login to WebAdvisor and change your password immediately.

Phishing is a common identity theft method used by fraudulent parties. NEVER send your personal information including passwords, user IDs, credit card numbers or a Social Security Number via email. Passwords should NEVER be shared with ANYONE in any form.

To learn more about phishing, follow the links below:

LLCC Information Technology (IT) does not solicit passwords or any other personal information via email. If you receive an email message that appears to come from IT that requests this type of information, please forward it immediately to Do not reply or click on any links. Again, these emails are often hoaxes (phishing emails), part of identity theft and fraud scams.