Congratulations to Jennifer Ramm and Laurenn York!

Jennifer Ramm and Laurenn YorkCongratulations to Jennifer Ramm, professor of chemistry, and Laurenn York, instructor of English, on having been selected as LLCC’s 2019 League Excellence Award winners. The annual League Excellence Awards recognize outstanding achievement in teaching innovation by full-time college faculty members. Award recipients demonstrate an outstanding commitment to student learning through instructional experimentation and by continuously improving their teaching practices. Nominations were based on the following criteria:

  • Continuing and effective use of innovative teaching methods
  • Demonstrable impact on enhancing student-learning outcomes
  • Establishing enhanced levels of student engagement
  • Collaboration and sharing of practices with colleagues

Jennifer and Laurenn were nominated by their deans during the fall 2019 semester and will be recognized at the annual League for Innovations Conference awards reception and closing ceremony on Wednesday, March 4 in Seattle, Washington.

Jacksonville Promise scholarships awarded to 19 LLCC-Jacksonville students

Back row: Dr. Charlotte Warren, Jacob Hall, Michael Vangiesen, Colton Weimer, Gavin Smith; Front row: Riley Johnson, Lalona Goodsell, Morgan Crowley, Dr. Lesley FrederickNineteen LLCC-Jacksonville students were awarded 2019 Jacksonville Promise scholarships at an event Aug. 27 at LLCC-Jacksonville. Students are eligible for the scholarships of up to $2,500 to cover tuition and fees if they have attended grade school through high school in Jacksonville and choose to attend a local college. LLCC award recipients in attendance at the event and shown with Dr. Charlotte Warren, president, and Dr. Lesley Frederick, vice president, student services, are Jacob Hall, Riley Johnson, Michael Vangiesen, Lalona Goodsell, Colton Weimer, Morgan Crowley and Gavin Smith. Scholarship recipients not pictured: Andria Basnet, Annika Black, Kyleigh CarmeanHannah Dawson, Logan Fry, Corey Hacker, Aerin Long, Emma Rhea, Zachary Rose, Joseph Stephenson, Chasey Tabit and Kassidy Upchurch.