50 Acts of Service

donated food items

Items collected at LLCC-Litchfield

LLCC-Taylorville and Litchfield hosted a Thanksgiving food drive during the month of November as one of the 50 acts of service to celebrate LLCC’s 50th anniversary.  Between the two locations, nearly 900 non-perishable food items were collected.  The food items will be donated to Montgomery County CEFS  food pantry, Taylorville Emergency Food Pantry and the Thanksgiving Food Basket Project.  The class that donated the most items at each location won a pizza party.  The winning class at Litchfield was Developmental Beginning Algebra II (MAT 092) taught by Ann Todt and the winning class at Taylorville was Criminology (CRJ 101) taught by Jerrilyn Dixon.

Jacksonville & Taylorville celebrate Multicultural Fest today

LLCC-Jacksonville 11 a.m.-1 p.m. – Entertainment and a presentation on the history of jazz and blues is being provided by Robert Sampson, jazz and blues musician. LLCC students will provide instruction on cultural arts and crafts and henna art hand painting. Ethnic food served will include Chinese, Indian, Irish, Italian and French cuisines.

LLCC-Taylorville 12-1 p.m. – Entertainment includes DJ Yinka who will showcase music from around the world. Students will participate in cultural arts and crafts, and foods from various cultures will be served.

Posted in ESA |

LLCC-Jacksonville students receive Jacksonville Promise Scholarships

Jville Promise Scholarship recipientsFour LLCC-Jacksonville students were among 17 recipients of the first Jacksonville Promise Scholarships awarded in a ceremony at LLCC-Jacksonville Sept. 1. Local donors contributed to a fund that provides scholarships to graduates of high schools in Jacksonville who choose to attend college locally at either LLCC-Jacksonville, Illinois College or MacMurray College. Pictured at the ceremony are Kayla Godair, Connor Moore, LLCC President Charlotte Warren, Ph.D., Kirkland Chappell and Evan Turner.

LLCC-Jacksonville to host first Jacksonville Promise scholarship ceremony Sept. 1

LLCC-Jacksonville will host a ceremony to award the first Jacksonville Promise scholarships to local students on Thursday, Sept. 1. A reception begins at 5 p.m. with the award ceremony at 5:30 p.m. Seventeen 2016 graduates of Jacksonville High School and Routt Catholic High School will receive Jacksonville Promise scholarships, four to attend LLCC-Jacksonville, 12 to Illinois College and one to MacMurray College. The Jacksonville Promise scholarships are funded through donations from local individuals and businesses.

More information is available from Maryjane Million, LLCC-Jacksonville enrollment operations coordinator, at 217.786.2457.

Posted in ESA |

Welcome Gabby Montoya!

MontoyaGabriela (Gabby) Montoya is the new part-time Educational Services Representative at LLCC-Beardstown.  A native of San Diego, California, Gabby moved to Beardstown, Ill. 20 years ago.  She is attending LLCC-B and has been very active in the student club and has also been a student worker.  Gabby is pursuing a degree in Elementary Education and plans to take advantage of the new LLCC/IC transfer agreement.

Posted in ESA |

Congratulations LLCC-J CNA graduates!

CNA 72716 PIC
Front (L-R):  Cassie Brown, Kable Crow, Jenny Rhodes
Row 2: Instructor Peggy Wisdom, Haley Pate, Sarah Newell, Shelbi Thornley, Kaitlyn Willis, Instructor Shannan Wintermeyer Hobbs, Instructor Linda Cockerill
Row 3: Fatima Alshantti, Kesha Brown, Cydney Mush, Adair Wilson
Back:  Katheryn Speaks, MacKenzie Nicols, Katelin Rebbe

In the News

Edu 215 Make A Wish Make a WishThe LLCC-Jacksonville’s EDU 215 class was recognized by Ashley White of Make-A-Wish-Illinois for collecting more than $6,000 for the organization.  The class of nine students lead several fundraising events and were also assisted by the Presbyterian Day Care Center and Walmart to reach their goal in only a few months.

Instructor Linda Chriswell and student James Charles were interviewed by the LLCC newspaper The Lamp, The Source newspaper and WLDS/WEAI radio station.

Posted in ESA |