8th annual Lincoln Lecture

Join us for the 8th annual Lincoln Lecture in commemoration of Lincoln’s birthday, Friday, Feb. 12, at 9 a.m. in the Trutter Center.

“Abraham Lincoln and the Todd Women of Aristocracy Hill” will be presented by Erika Holst, author of “Wicked Springfield: Crime, Corruption and Scandal during the Lincoln Era” and “Edwards Place: A Springfield Treasure.”

Ms. Holst, a frequent contributor to the Illinois Times, spent four years with The Papers of Abraham Lincoln project before joining the Springfield Art Association as curator of collections for historic Edwards Place in Springfield. She will discuss her research on how Mary Todd Lincoln and her sisters influenced a rough looking country lawyer who became President of the United States.

The lecture is free and refreshments will be served.

Position Vacancies Announced

The Human Resources office is currently advertising for an Information Technology Specialist.  The Child Development Center is currently seeking part-time substitute teaching assistants.  Complete information on these positions can be found on the HR Employment site.

Posted in HR |

Community Education seeking instructors for new summer youth programming

Community Education is adding more summer STEAM opportunities for area wide youth via Black Rocket classes though LLCC.  In order to do so, we are looking for individuals who would be interested in teaching these exciting technology classes!  View class descriptions.

  • All training will be provided, with an additional stipend for completion, and our instructors receive $25 per student contact hour.
  • Teacher certification is not required – individuals 18 and over who possess the interest and passion, communicate well with others, and provide recommendations will be considered for instructor and/or assistant positions.

Please feel free to share this opportunity with your students, peers, and within your professional/personal spheres.

Jessica Ingold
Coordinator, Youth Enrichment Services

In the News

WICS/FOX 55 filmed scenes from two Academy of Lifelong Learning events in the past week. Chief meteorologist Cheryl Lehmke spoke at the ALL Winter Celebration Jan. 29, and anchor Jenn Sullivan spoke to the ALL Breakfast Roundtable Feb. 4.

Congratulations to LLCC-Jacksonville, named Business of the Month!

Jacksonville Main Street has chosen LLCC-Jacksonville for the February 2016 Business of the Month. Every month JMS selects one downtown business to recognize for their outstanding support of the main street mission, participation in events and promotions, and for financially contributing to the organization. LLCC has been in downtown Jacksonville for over 15 years, are a past financial and in-kind donor to JMS, and the staff has volunteered for many years for the organization and our events, including having a consistent presence on the JMS Board of Directors.  Events they have participated are the Downtown Celebration & Pumpkin Festival. LLCC was a crucial partner in the award winning Pink Palace rehabilitation project from 2006-2008, and since being downtown LLCC has reinvested nearly 1 million dollars in their facility with improvements and upgrades.


Posted in ESA |

Paper is too valuable to waste…

Since we began our campaign to save paper at convocation last year, we have heard some great ideas on how YOU are making a difference with reducing your printing and paper footprint at the college. Please send us your best ideas and we will share them in LincIn with the college community. Send your best ideas to the Paper/Printing Reduction Awareness Committee with the Subject “Too Valuable to Waste” at darla.cochran@llcc.edu.